TL;DR
Get art and craft supplies delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, has opened applications for the 2027–29 Core Residency Program for emerging artists and critical writers. The residency runs from September 2027 to July 2029, and applications are due January 8, 2027. The program lists studio space, mentorship visits and access to museum, school and library resources among its provisions.
The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston is accepting applications for the 2027–29 Core Residency Program, a two-year residency for emerging artists and critical writers. The term is scheduled to run from September 2027 to July 2029, and applications are due January 8, 2027.
The program is based at the Glassell School of Art, part of the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. According to the announcement, selected fellows receive private studio space and regular studio visits with artists and curators. They can also take free or discounted classes at the school.
Fellows may request access to fabrication facilities covering areas including painting, printmaking, photography, sculpture, jewelry and ceramics. The announcement also lists access to the museum’s galleries and collections, two house museums focused on American and European decorative arts, and borrowing privileges at the MFAH’s Hirsch Library and Rice University’s Fondren Library.
The program describes its intended participants as exceptional, highly motivated emerging artists and critical writers who are committed to developing a sustainable practice. That description comes from the program announcement; it does not provide further selection criteria or explain how applications will be evaluated.
Studios, Mentorship and Research Access
The announcement describes a residency that combines dedicated work space with access to institutional resources. For artists and writers weighing a multi-year commitment, the listed provisions include studio visits, classes and fabrication facilities, as well as opportunities to work with museum collections and consult library materials.
The range of resources may be relevant to applicants whose practices involve different media or research methods. Access to facilities for printmaking, film and digital photography, sculpture and ceramics sits alongside borrowing privileges at two libraries. The announcement does not make claims about career outcomes, funding or the program’s effect on fellows’ work, so those benefits should not be assumed.
The residency’s timing also makes the application deadline a practical concern: applicants must submit by January 8, 2027 for a term beginning the following September. People considering the opportunity will need to consult the program’s application instructions for requirements not included in the announcement.
Popular right now

Vitamix 5200 Professional-Grade Blender, 64 oz. Container, Black

Vitamix Propel Series 510 Professional-Grade Blender, 3 Programs, Black

Ninja Crispi Glass Air Fryer (Stone) – 4‑in‑1
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
A Two-Year MFAH Residency
The Core Residency Program is presented by the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston and is based at the Glassell School of Art. The announcement frames the residency around developing a sustainable practice and names two participant groups: emerging artists and critical writers.
For the 2027–29 cycle, the stated dates are September 2027 through July 2029. The announcement provides a high-level account of the facilities and access available to fellows, but it does not set out the number of residency places or describe the program’s selection process. Prospective applicants are directed to the MFAH Core webpage for instructions and further information.
““committed to developing a sustainable practice””
— Core Residency Program announcement
Application and Selection Details
The announcement does not specify how many fellows will be selected, what materials applicants must submit, whether the residency includes a stipend or other financial support, or what criteria the selection committee will use. It also does not clarify whether access to particular fabrication studios is guaranteed or depends on availability and approval; the announcement says fellows may request access.
Applicants should confirm those points through the program’s application instructions rather than infer them from the general description. The announcement states the deadline and residency dates, but does not describe any later changes or additional milestones in the selection timeline.
Submit Before January 8
Prospective applicants can find instructions and further information at mfah.org/core, the website named in the announcement. Applications for the 2027–29 term are due January 8, 2027. The residency is scheduled to begin in September 2027 and conclude in July 2029.
The next useful details for applicants are the application requirements, selection timeline and any terms not listed in the announcement. The MFAH has not supplied those specifics in the source material, so interested artists and writers should check the program page for current guidance before submitting.
Key Questions
Who can apply to the MFAH Core Residency Program?
The announcement describes the program as intended for emerging artists and critical writers committed to developing a sustainable practice. It does not provide additional eligibility rules in the information supplied.
When are applications due?
Applications for the 2027–29 term are due January 8, 2027. The program directs prospective applicants to mfah.org/core for instructions.
When does the residency take place?
The scheduled term runs from September 2027 to July 2029.
What resources does the program list for fellows?
The announcement lists private studio space, regular studio visits, free or discounted classes, and the ability to request fabrication-studio access. It also cites access to MFAH galleries and collections and borrowing privileges at the Hirsch Library and Rice University’s Fondren Library.
Does the announcement say whether fellows receive a stipend?
No. The source material does not specify whether the residency provides a stipend or other financial support. Applicants should check the program’s application instructions for current terms.
Source: hyperallergic.com
