TL;DR
Get art and craft supplies delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Washington University in St. Louis is accepting applications for fall 2027 entry to its two-year, fully residential MFA in Visual Art program. Applications are due Jan. 10, 2027, and the application fee is waived through Dec. 14; details about admission criteria and funding were not included in the announcement.
Washington University in St. Louis is accepting applications for fall 2027 entry to its two-year, fully residential MFA in Visual Art program, inviting artists working across media and approaches. The application deadline is Jan. 10, 2027, and applicants can apply without a fee through Dec. 14, according to the program announcement.
Run by WashU’s Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts, the MFA is described as supporting work ranging from historical techniques and emerging media to scholarly research and social practice. Its facilities include a digital fabrication lab, a time-based media art studio, printmaking and book facilities, wood and metal shops, and textile studios. The announcement presents these resources as supporting experimentation across disciplines.
The program is two years and fully residential. Students prepare work for multiple exhibitions during their studies, culminating in a thesis exhibition at the Kemper Art Museum. The school also identifies opportunities to extend students’ work through its Office for Socially Engaged Practice, a Counterpublic triennial fellowship, and Berlin Sommerakademie.
The announcement names Tiffany Calvert as chair and lists Jamie Adams, Josh Azzarella, Heather Bennett, Lisa Bulawsky, Joe deVera, Amy Hauft, Meghan Kirkwood, Arny Nadler, Patricia Olynyk, Jack Risley, Cheryl Wassenaar, and Monika Weiss among the core faculty. It says visiting artists and critics lead workshops, studio visits, and lectures; this year’s visitors include Wafaa Bilal, Chloë Bass, Carolina Caycedo, and Juan William Chávez.
Studios and Opportunities Across Media
The announcement gives prospective students a picture of the program’s facilities, teaching community, and related opportunities, alongside the application dates. Its mix of workshops and studios for digital fabrication, print, textiles, and other processes may be relevant to applicants whose work crosses traditional divisions between media. The school also describes links to socially engaged practice, research, and artist residencies as part of the wider educational setting.
For applicants weighing graduate programs, the stated exhibition sequence and thesis show provide a sense of how student work is presented during the degree. The program says the thesis exhibition takes place at the Kemper Art Museum. It also lists post-graduation possibilities: alumni are eligible for residencies at Paris’ Cité internationale des arts, the $25,000 Stone & DeGuire Contemporary Art Award, and a post-MFA studio fellowship. Eligibility is not a guarantee of receiving any award or placement.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the MFA Is Structured
The program is housed at WashU’s Sam Fox School, within a research university. Its announcement describes a close-knit community of artists and researchers and a curriculum intended to support varied approaches to contemporary art and multiple career paths. These are the school’s descriptions of its program; the announcement does not provide independent outcomes data or details about employment after graduation.
Among the alumni cited by the school are Kahlil Robert Irving, Lavar Munroe, Ebony G. Patterson, Carlie Trosclair, and Cayce Zavaglia. The announcement also points to visiting artists and critics as a way for students to take part in workshops, studio visits, and lectures. This information supplies context for the program’s stated scope, but does not indicate how often each opportunity is available or how many students take part.
“The MFA in Visual Art is a two-year, fully residential program.”
— Washington University in St. Louis / Sam Fox School program announcement
printmaking and book arts supplies
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Admissions and Funding Details Not Listed
The announcement does not specify admission requirements, such as portfolio contents, recommendation letters, or academic prerequisites. It also does not give the number of places available, selection timetable, tuition, or details about scholarships, assistantships, and other financial support. Applicants should consult the school’s application materials for current instructions rather than infer those details from the program description.
The school describes several fellowships, residencies, and awards, but the announcement does not state how many positions are available, their selection criteria, or whether participation is guaranteed. It also does not report outcomes data for graduates or explain how opportunities vary among students.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Application Window Runs to January
Prospective students can apply for fall 2027 entry through the program’s application process, with submissions due Jan. 10, 2027. The announcement says the application is free through Dec. 14; it does not state whether a fee applies after that date or identify any earlier priority deadline.
Applicants seeking program-specific requirements, fee information after Dec. 14, or financial aid details will need to check the Sam Fox School’s official application information. The announcement does not provide a date for admission decisions or describe the next steps in the selection process.
metal and wood shop tools for artists
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
When is the deadline to apply to WashU’s MFA in Visual Art for fall 2027?
The application deadline is Jan. 10, 2027, according to the program announcement.
Is there an application fee?
The announcement says applicants can apply for free through Dec. 14. It does not say whether a fee applies after that date.
How long is the MFA program?
WashU describes it as a two-year, fully residential MFA in Visual Art.
What kinds of studio facilities does the program list?
The announcement names a digital fabrication lab, a time-based media art studio, printmaking and book facilities, wood and metal shops, and textile studios.
Does the announcement give tuition or financial aid information?
No. It does not provide tuition, scholarship, assistantship, or other financial aid details. Applicants should check the school’s official materials for current information.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
